Candor and Tattooing

I’ve been thinking for a while about getting a tattoo. Something small but visible to me, and that has significant meaning in my life. I’ve started drawing it on my wrist again like I did in high school, using this as a test of whether it has become a part of me yet.

Last night I saw Insurgent, and as I was standing in the shower washing away my current “test”, I had a thought. I looked at my clean wrist and wondered whether I would rather travel through life as I am, unmarked. But none of us are truly unmarked. We carry physical scars, pockmarks and slices of wounds now past. Even deeper, we carry marks from every experience we’ve ever had. Every happy memory, every fight, every night alone crying. Why should I be afraid to pull those from the depths to something I can actually see and hold onto?

It was in the midst of this process that I realized, in the world of Divergent, I don’t think Dauntless would be the only faction to practice the art of tattooing. I could see it being heavily utilized in Candor, where individuals value honesty and showing one’s true self. What better way to do that than to pull your deepest marks from within and proudly show them for the world to see?

I believe Candor would appreciate the raw truth that comes through the process.

What do you think?

One Response

  1. That’s true, although there are so many means to express oneself and they thought this form of expression was reserved for the bad-ass and reckless members of Dauntless. Perhaps if someone from Candor had gotten a tattoo they’d be considered a divergent for showing signs common to the Dauntless.

Leave a Reply

