NaCreSoMo Day 1

It’s that time of the year again – NaCreSoMo! It stands for “National Create Something Month”. My friends invited me to join them last year in this month-long journey of creativity, and this is year two.

It’s hard to find time to do creative things (and record them!), especially while working full time and pretty much wanting to play video games and sleep at the end of the day. This is why I’m only on day one and it’s already March 5th.

Today I present a very shoddy sketch based off of something in one of my Sailor Moon art books. It’s been forever since I’ve drawn anything, and as you can see my skills have deteriorated significantly. I keep putting off drawing because I’ve gotten worse, and I get worse because I’m not drawing. So here.

20140305-002450.jpg

20140305-002528.jpg

3 Responses

  1. Interesting. This is not meant to be a criticism, but maybe that can’t be helped…something about the picture makes me think the senshi is male. I’m trying to pin down what it is, because that’s a useful thing to harness. I think part of it is the hair (not just because it’s short…something in the way it…clumps?), and another part is the leg proportions. Hm.

    Wish I could draw either of these this well. Looking forward to more.

    • That’s actually a good thing! I was drawing Sailor Uranus and she’s an extremely masculine character. She even gets mistaken for a guy multiple times in the series. That being said, the proportions on this sketch were all seriously off – it’s my worst fault when drawing, especially when I’m using a reference.

  2. I totally feel you about the “I got worse at [verb] and I get worse bc I don’t [verb].” That’s what I love about NaCreSoMo–it forces you to do those [verbs] again so you don’t put it off :]

Leave a Reply

